541 Charlotte Street
This stucco-clad half-timbered Craftsman house was built in 1922 by Mr. and Mrs. Frank VanWart, who were proprietors of a grocery store near the corner of Charlotte and St. John Streets. The planning and construction of the house took two years - under the watchful eye of the meticulous Mrs. VanWart. Of a unique design to Fredericton, this may be a "kit house" popularly offered by retailers in the early 20th century, built to contemporary standards with all the modern conveniences of the time. The house retains all of the original siding materials, windows and interesting interior features including a butler’s pantry and charming glassed-in front verandah.