Wilmot Park & Bandstand
Across the road from Old Government House is Wilmot Park, a time-honored public park and green space. In 1860, William H. Odell offered 20 acres of his land to the City to develop as a park or pleasure ground. On August 6, 1860, the visiting Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) officially opened the park, although it essentially remained an empty meadow and pasture until it was purchased by Edward H. Wilmot in 1894 and once again bequeathed to the City in 1895 with a generous endowment for its care. The picturesque wooden bandstand that has been the focus of social events in Fredericton for years was recently restored in 2003.