199 St. John Street
Hugh Moore, schoolmaster, leased the corner lot in 1843 in order to build this attractive and compact house. He had been a tutor in Ireland and in Fredericton he became principal of the Madras School, supported in the 19th century by donations of money and land. It is a charming house, but even more important as a barometer of mid-century taste. The earlier box shape has been modified by the vertical accent of a gable while the new requirement of enhanced surface texture can be seen in the increased overhang of the eaves and the window ornament. This is one of the few houses in Fredericton that still maintain original wooden storm covers for the entry sidelights during the winter months.